top of page

Nigeria Postal Code List For The 36 States

Updated: May 25

Nigeria Postal Code

Usually, postal codes and zip codes are used to facilitate the delivery of packages via post (mail). In some countries like the U.S., zip codes are used while in countries like Nigeria postal codes are used.

Nigeria is divided into six geopolitical zones, each zone sharing the same ethnic origin, the same cultural practices, and the same history. Geopolitics has contributed to the efficient allocation of resources by the government and was created during the reign of President Ibrahim Babangida.

The six geopolitical zones are; North-East region composed mainly of the Kanuri ethnic group and has six states; Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, and Yobe. The North-West region is mainly made up of the Hausa Fulani ethnic group and has seven states; Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, and Zamfara.

The North-Central region, also known as the middle belt and which has the largest number of states, is predominantly made up of the Tiv ethnic group and has seven states; Federal Capital Territory, Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Nassarawa, Niger, and Plateau. The South-East region consists mainly of the Igbo ethnic group and has the fewest states, five states are in the Southeast region; Abia, Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi, and Imo.

The South-South region is made up of the Ijaw ethnic group and has six states; Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River State, Delta, Edo, and Rivers. The final geopolitical area is the South-West region is mostly dominated by the Yoruba tribes, made up of states such as Ekiti, Oyo, Ogun, Lagos, Osun, and Ondo.

How to Decode Nigerian Postal Code?

Nigerian postal codes are made of numbers, consisting of six digits. NIPOST, the Nigerian Postal Service, divides the country into nine regions, which make up the first digit of the code. The second and third digits, combined with the first, are the dispatch district for outgoing sorting.

The last three digits represent the delivery location. A delivery location can be any of the following; a post office facility, a rural area, or an urban area.

Postal Codes For Nigeria

Lagos has the lowest postal code 100001. The main postal head office in each region in Nigeria has a postal code ending with 0001. So, Garki Main HO in Abuja has zip code 900001, Lokoja in Kogi has 270001 and Port Harcourt has 500001. The lowest postcode is 100001 and the highest is 982002. There are also post codes for other states in Nigeria, such as Enugu zip code is 400001, while Imo state is 460001.

What is the Nigerian Postal Code For 36 States?

Here is the list of Nigerian Postal Codes for all its states and FCT:

1. Abia – 440001

2. Adamawa – 640001

3. Akwa Ibom – 520001

4. Anambra – 420001

5. Bauchi – 740001

6. Bayelsa – 561001

7. Benue – 970001

8. Borno – 600001

9. Cross River – 540001

10. Delta – 320001

11. Ebonyi – 840001

12. Edo – 300001

13. Ekiti – 360001

14. Enugu - 400001

15. Gombe – 760001

16. Imo – 460001

17. Jigawa – 720001

18. Kaduna – 700001

19. Kano – 800001

20. Katsina – 820001

21. Kebbi – 860001

22. Kogi – 260001

23. Kwara – 240001

24. Lagos (mainland/island) – 100001/101001

25. Nasarawa – 962001

26. Niger – 920001

27. Ogun – 110001

28. Ondo – 340001

29. Osun – 230001

30. Oyo – 200001

31. Plateau – 930001

32. Rivers – 50000

33. Sokoto – 840001

34. Taraba – 660001

35. Yobe – 320001

36. Zamfara – 860001

Federal Capital Territory (FCT) - 900001

For further details on codes of towns in states click here.

Recommended Article

1 comentário

reuben ibe
reuben ibe
22 de set. de 2022

Thanks is very good to have zip codes in our country.


how to start a money-making blog


how to start a blog

Subscribe to Our Site

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page